Our Football Year

Over 60 boys took part in our three school football teams playing several exciting matches since early September.  

Our Senior B team had a good victory over Bishop Galvin in their last match and have been invited to play in a tournament in the new year. The Junior team coached by Ms Byrne (assisted  by Mr. Hallinan in a reversal of roles) played in five closely contested games and were unlucky to register only one victory. Our Senior team’s shield quarter final victory over Scoil Eoin Bosco was the highlight of the season when late scores from Glen Hollywood, Marcel Latu and Conor Duffy rescued us from certain defeat. However in the  semi final against Malahide we were beaten by a better team. We competed well with outstanding displays from Eoghan Byrne and Barra Dignam but finished on the wrong side of a 5-9 to 2-11 scoreline.

Our thanks to all the parents who supported the teams throughout the season and to th boys who were a credit tot he school displaying great spirit, skill and sportmanship. Hopefully some will follow in the steps of our past pupils who have played for Dublin, most recently Brendan Bentley and Niall O’Sullivan who won All Ireland minor football medals this year and Chris Bennett who played for Dublin in the minor hurling final.


On Friday 16th of November four boys from fourth class went to a quiz in Zion School down in Rathgar. There were 18 tables and they were against fourth, fifth and sixth class. The boys came third and they were so happy. The boys are in Ms Maher’s class. The names of the boys are Daniel Kelly, Jonathan Kelly, Diarmuid Green and Harry McWalters

Report by Harry

Logo Competition

Congratulations to all the boys from 2nd to 6th class for the very high quality of entries for our logo competition. This is part of our Window on Europe Comenius project. www.windowoneurope.eu

We want you to vote for the logos below and the top 3 will go onto the Window on Europe website as well as the top 3 logos from Spain, Norway, Poland, Italy and France. Here the winning logo will be selected and will appear on everything related to the project.

The top 7 entries below are in random order. The artists are Sam O’Kelly(4th class), Ruairí Hogan (4th class), Senan Lyons (2nd class), Mark Lysaght (6th class), Jack Kelly (2nd class), Rory Maher (3rd class). Well done boys,

You will be only allowed to vote once.

[nggallery id=22]


All Ireland Winners

Congratulations to past pupils  Brendan Bentley and Niall O’Sullivan who won All Ireland minor football medals with the Dublin minor team this year.

Brendan and Niall returned to St. Joseph’s today with the Leinster final cup and the Tom Markham Cup for the All Ireland.

Here they are seen with Ms. Hogan’s senior infants and Bean Ui Loingsigh’s Junior infant classes. Mr. Hallinan also attended with his All Ireland winning medals (See below).

[nggallery id=19]

School Council

Our school council has representatives from each class from 3rd to 6th, with regular reports and feedback provided to classes from infants to second.  They meet each month. The council will ensure that the interests of all pupils will be represented. Our school council will also have its own blog to report on their work.

The 6th class members of the school council have started their own blog at www.stjosephsterenure.ie/council


The members of the council are

3rd Class: Mikey P, Cormac G, Rowan F and Matthew H.

4th Class: Séan L., Oscar B., Adam F., Daniel K.

5th Class: Alex D., Eoin M., Jack G., Fiachra C.

6th Class: Aaron D., Max O’N., Oisín H., Michael C..

Teachers Reps: Ms. Durkan, Ms. O’Riordan